THE RECKLESS ENGINEER by JAC WRIGHT

SYNOPSIS:

Jac Wright author, mystery, suspense, crime fiction

The aftershocks of an affair reverberate out to those in the lives of the lovers, who will NOT take it lying down.

Jack Connor’s lives an idyllic life by the Portsmouth seaside married to Caitlin McAllen, a stunning billionaire  heiress, and working at his two jobs as the Head of Radar Engineering of Marine Electronics and as the Director of Engineering of McAllen BlackGold, his powerful father-in-law Douglas McAllen’s extreme engineering company in Oil & Gas.  He loves his two sons from his first marriage and is amicably divorced from his beautiful first wife Marianne Connor.  Their delicately balanced lives are shattered when sexy  Michelle Williams, with whom Jack is having a secret affair and who is pregnant with his child, is found dead and Jack is arrested on suspicion for the murder.

Jeremy Stone brings London’s top defence attorney, Harry Stavers, to handle his best friend’s defence.

Who is the bald man with the tattoo of a skull seen entering the victim’s house?  Who is “KC” who Caitlin makes secret calls to from a untraceable mobile?  Has powerful Douglas McAllen already killed his daughter’s first partner and is he capable of killing again?  Is Caitlin’s brother Ronnie McAllen’s power struggle with Jack for the control of McAllen Industries so intense that he is prepared to kill and frame his brother-in-law?  Is the divorce from Jack’s first wife as amicable on her part as they believe it to be?  Are his sons prepared to kill for their vast inheritance?  Who are the ghosts from Caitlin’s past in Aberdeen, Scotland haunting the marriage?  What is the involvement of Jack’s manager at Marine Electronics?

​While Jack is charged and his murder trial proceeds in the Crown Court under barrister Harry Stavers’ expert care, Jeremy runs a race against time to find the real killer and save his friend’s life, if he is in fact innocent, in a tense tale of love, power, and ambition.

Buy Links:      http://www.amazon.com/Jac-Wright/e/B00DAGN3J6/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

This is the new book cover!

51BnXvKh6jL._SS300_

About the Author:

Jac Wright is a published poet, an author, and an electronics engineer educated at Stanford, UCL, and Cambridge who lives and works in England. He studied English literature from the early age of three, developing an intense love for poetry, drama, and writing in Trinity College Speech & Drama classes taken every Saturday for 14 years, and in subsequent creative writing classes taken during the university years. A published poet, Jac’s first passion was for literary fiction and poetry writing as well as for the dramatic arts. You will find these influences in the poetic imagery and prose, the dramatic scene setting, and the deep character creation.

These passions–for poetry, drama, literary fiction, and electronic engineering–have all been lovingly combined to create the first book in his literary suspense series, The Reckless Engineer. There are millions of professionals in high tech corporate environments who work in thousands of cities in the US, the UK, and the world such as engineers, technicians, investment bankers, and corporate lawyers. High drama, power struggles, and human interest stories play out in the arena every day. Yet there are hardly any books that tell their stories; there are not many books that they can identify with. Jac feels compelled to tell their stories in The Reckless Engineer series.

Jac also writes the literary short fiction series, Summerset Tales, in which he explores characters struggling against their passions and social circumstances in the semi-fictional region of contemporary England called Summerset, partly the region that Thomas Hardy called Wessex. Some of the tales have an added element of suspense similar to Roald Dahl’s Tales of the Unexpected. The collection is published as individual tales in the tradition of Charles Dickens’ The Pickwick Papers and Thomas Hardy’s Wessex Tales. The first tale, The Closet, accompanies the author’s first full-length literary suspense title, The Reckless Engineer.

Connect with the author:

Website:          http://jacwrightbooks.wix.com/jacwright
Blog:               http://mysteriescrimethrillers.blogspot.co.uk/
Facebook:        https://www.facebook.com/jacwrightbooks
Twitter:           @JacWrightBooks

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Jac-Wright/e/B00DAGN3J6

My thoughts:

This murder mystery is a page turner with a wonderful plot. The story is well thought out and written in a way that all questions that may arise in the reader’s mind will be answered. The story starts off in the present and supporting information about past events are provided as and when required. This provides a good understanding of the story.

The hero of the series, Jeremy Stone, an engineer receives a phone call from his best friend Jack Connor, who has been charged with murdering Michelle, his co-worker with whom he was having an affair. Jeremy asks his friend Harry Stavers, an attorney, to step in as Jack’s lawyer. The story follows the mystery surrounding the murder as Harry and Jeremy work to prove Jack’s innocence.

Every character we are introduced to in the story becomes a potential suspect with a strong motive to have killed Michelle, and just when you think you have figured out who the murderer is, a new twist is brought in so subtly that your entire focus shifts to another character.

The scenes are described vividly making it easy for us to recreate the image in our mind and follow the story as it progresses.The characters are well thought out and give us a sense of reality. They are all described in shades of grey and no one person is perfect. I really liked the way each character had a definite reason to be in the story. There were no unnecessary deviations from the plot either.

Overall this is a wonderful fast paced story which is definitely worth a read!

 

Share your thoughts

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s