Book Review: Henry and the Hidden Treasure by B.C.R. Fegan

About the Book:

Henry and the Hidden Treasure

Henry and the Hidden Treasure is an imaginative adventure a young child has in defending his pocket money against his little sister. Henry constructs elaborate defensive measures that he is sure will stand up to the clever ambitions of Lucy. Little does he know, Lucy has a few tricks of her own.

With a focus on introducing children to the use of ordinal numbers, Henry and the Hidden Treasure also draws out some important qualities of being a kid – such as creativity, the value of listening to parental advice, and of course, being nice to your sister.

My Thoughts:

A simple enough children’s story, this book seeks to enlighten children about the importance of listening to your parents and of having an imagination and not shying away from it. It also subtly brings out the concept of ordinal numbers and thus proves to be a useful way of teaching a mathematical concept to children.

The story is imaginative and Henry’s ideas are highly amusing. However, though it is a short story, it felt very abrupt and incomplete, as though the whole point of the plot is not yet conveyed. Looking at this from a child’s point of view however, it proves to be enjoyable and just enough to perhaps keep their attention.

This is a good story to use for both fun reading and as a teaching aid with it’s wonderful illustrations.

Take a short and fun trip in the Yellow Bus with Giggly Bear!

About the Book:

Giggly Bear's Fun Trip in the Yellow Bus

A Fun Safety Rhyme for Young Readers

Did you know that children are safer riding the yellow school bus than in their parent’s vehicle?

Climb aboard and hear Giggly Bear and his friends teach kids valuable lessons on how to ride the school bus safely.

Giggly Bear’s Fun Trip in the Yellow Bus is the third book in the series Let’s Learn while Playing.

Children 2-6 year old will rhyme away to safety while learning new concepts and building vocabulary in this fun yellow ride.

Fans of Pete the Cat and The Pout-Pout Fish series don’t want to miss this adventure.

My Thoughts:

This is a simple enough read and a rather quick one. The author focusses on the importance of wearing seat-belts in the bus and being safe.

However, though the various parts rhyme, there is one part which keeps repeating throughout. Also, there is not a lot of detail about the circumstances of the trip or what happens when they reach their destination. We are only introduced to two main characters and one of them, Giggly Bear is the main character. There is no indication as to why that is his name and I assume it is not really important to know that! The author touches upon the topic of safety at a surface level but gives enough information and stress on the topic

Overall, this book is decent and the illustrations are captivating enough, though very less in number. The story is easy to read and understand and children will definitely enjoy this book and learn something from it, in spite of the lack of detail or a longer plot!

Book Review of Crazy Daisy: The Environmental Cow and a Bird by Lynne Pickering

About the Book:

610RoKU2J1L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

Daisy is a milking cow. Farmer Dave, who owns Daisy, is an environmental farmer. Sprays to control pests, like ticks, make Daisy sick. One day, while farmer Dave is on a holiday, Daisy gets a terrible itch, and she tries everything to relieve the itch.

She goes into silly antics, like rubbing her nose on a post, doing summersaults in the paddock, and standing on her head.

She asks assistance from a duck to scratch her itchy nose, and a grasshopper tries to help along with an egret. One day, Daisy meets a bird that migrated from Africa, and her name is Flossy. They become the best of friends. Flossy solves all of Daisy’s problems.

This is a fun story of cooperation, friendship, and saving the environment.

 

My Thoughts:

This is a cute and fun story for children about daisy, a cow, through whom they can learn the importance of friendship and helping each other. there is also a clear message about the environment and helping to save it. This is shown when the farmer talks about avoiding the use of pesticides. Daisy the cow then finds a way to get rid of her tick problem in a symbiotic way which benefits both her and the bird who comes to help her.

As is common among Lynne’s books, there are some wonderful illustrations that compliment the story and make it a delight to read.

Review: The Extraordinary Concert by Lynne Pickering

About the Book:

617MhNQEh5L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

Get ready for an extraordinary concert where you can join in singing the symphony of sounds.

One day a turtle was walking along and humming a tune when he came across a green frog humming the same tune. They collaborated and sang together. A brown bullfrog liked the tune, as did a spotted tree frog, and they joined the choir.

It was not long before four fishes heard the song and asked if they could sing as well but had to audition. The green frog took the role as a conductor and asked a nearby crow to join their symphony because he had a special sound. Now they were ready for a concert at full moon.

This is a great, fun book for a classroom or group of children to role-play the characters, and a lot of skill is required for a memory game and fun-singing sounds.

 

My Thoughts:

This is a great book for children to learn the sounds made by some water animals like fish, turtles and frogs. The author has brought out the difference in sounds made by each animal in a way that can be easily understood. There is also a fun element to the story which will keep the children entertained. They can also sing along trying to replicate the tunes and try to re-create the symphony as the author has shown in the book.

All in all this is a great book to use as a teaching aid while teaching children about the sounds made by animals. the illustrations compliment the story and are wonderful to look at.

Book Review: The Toothless Tooth Fairy by Shanelle Hicks

About the Book:

1

Bella had it all. The hair, the dress, and the smile. One day, her most important asset was missing…her tooth! Will Bella find the perfect tooth in time for the contest? Will Zelda, the meanest of the fairies, destroy Bella’s chances of winning the crown? Take a journey onto Cloud Nine as Bella searches for a new tooth only to discover the tooth…I mean truth…behind her true beauty.

 

My Thoughts:

This is a short and fun story for children that brings out the importance of being good and kind. Bella is a tooth fairy who is taking part in a tooth fairy pageant where the most important thing is the tooth fairy’s smile. Bella loses a tooth just before the competition and Zelda, who is jealous of her tries to spoil it all. Through kindness, Bella turns Zelda into a good tooth fairy. Shanelle has demonstrated through this story that being good to someone who is naughty or bad can turn them into a good person themselves.

The illustrations are wonderful and eye catching. They are enough to keep children interested even if they do not read the story. The illustrations themselves are complimentary to the story and depict the story very well.

Overall this is a nice story that children can read or be read to as it contains a wonderful message.

 

Curses the Witch’s Cat by Frances Ermengarde

About the book:

51ScIsacZqL._SS300_

Curses is a young black cat, who more than anything wants to become a witch’s cat just like his parents. Join him as he and his friends work to achieve their dreams while learning what is truly important.

My thoughts:

This is a short story aimed at children in the age group 1-10. It is a fun story about a young cat name Curses who wants to grow up and become a witch’s cat like his parents. However, to be a witch’s cat, the cat should be all black. Curses has a small white spot on his chest. On learning about this rule he becomes disheartened and sad. This story is about how he ends up being selected by a witch herself. There is a lesson to learn at the end of the story. There are illustrations to accompany the story. This story will make a good bedtime story and the pictures will keep the children interested. A lovely story that is a pleasure to read and be read out.