Book Review : The Piraroo by Marko Kitti

About the Book: (taken from the back cover of the book)

The Piraroo (Tales from Puffington Hill, #1)

Dear Reader,

I’m afraid you’re soon going to meet a tarantula the size of a kitten. You’re also going to bump into a whopper of a seagull who is the British Champion in Poop Bombing. Not to mention an extraordinary, furry creature whose ancestor once belonged to a notorious pirate captain.

You’re also going to meet a ten-year-old boy called Max, the owner of the tarantula, whose life is about to turn upside down in this nail-biting adventure that includes petnappers and disgusting healthy smoothies!

So I am warning you, Dear Reader: Should you decide to read about Max and his animal friends, your life will never be the same again.

Yours sincerely,
MK

My Thoughts:

The Piraroo, a new book by author Marko Kitti, is another delightful read for not just children, but everyone. The story follows Max, a ten year old, as he deals with the loss of a pet, the acqusition of a new one and an unexpected adventure. The story comes with illustrations by Ant Carlos which are wonderful and expressive. They complement the story and make it more interesting to read.

The most wonderful part of this book is the way in which it is put together, right from page colors to match the environment upto the plot, the whole concept is different and enchanting. I enjoyed the effects of these colors and the way they matched the story. I am not sure that it is wise to expand upon this point since it is worth the surprise when you get to those pages!

The story brings out the importance of friendship and belief as well as love towards animals and other beings. It also brings out a contrast between greed and deception with love and kindness. The animals and birds are fascinating in this story, becoming the main characters towards the middle. Max’s interaction with them is delightful to follow. We also meet Max’s dysfunctional family and are thrown into the midst of a fascinating smoothie contest!

Bringing together all these plot lines, Marko once again crafts a fun filled story which will leave the reader in splits. He also ensures to mix in a little seriousness and emotion with a strong message, a newer concept as compared to the general humour filled Jesper Jinx novels. As always, this new book by Marko Kitti is worth the read!

Take a short and fun trip in the Yellow Bus with Giggly Bear!

About the Book:

Giggly Bear's Fun Trip in the Yellow Bus

A Fun Safety Rhyme for Young Readers

Did you know that children are safer riding the yellow school bus than in their parent’s vehicle?

Climb aboard and hear Giggly Bear and his friends teach kids valuable lessons on how to ride the school bus safely.

Giggly Bear’s Fun Trip in the Yellow Bus is the third book in the series Let’s Learn while Playing.

Children 2-6 year old will rhyme away to safety while learning new concepts and building vocabulary in this fun yellow ride.

Fans of Pete the Cat and The Pout-Pout Fish series don’t want to miss this adventure.

My Thoughts:

This is a simple enough read and a rather quick one. The author focusses on the importance of wearing seat-belts in the bus and being safe.

However, though the various parts rhyme, there is one part which keeps repeating throughout. Also, there is not a lot of detail about the circumstances of the trip or what happens when they reach their destination. We are only introduced to two main characters and one of them, Giggly Bear is the main character. There is no indication as to why that is his name and I assume it is not really important to know that! The author touches upon the topic of safety at a surface level but gives enough information and stress on the topic

Overall, this book is decent and the illustrations are captivating enough, though very less in number. The story is easy to read and understand and children will definitely enjoy this book and learn something from it, in spite of the lack of detail or a longer plot!