Book Review: Gracie’s Secret by Jill Childs

About the Book:

Gracie's Secret

My dearest daughter, I will never forget the day I nearly lost you. The day you learned the secrets that would tear our lives apart…

Time stops for Jen when her beloved daughter, Gracie, is involved in a terrible car crash. Pronounced dead at the scene, it’s a miracle when paramedics manage to then resuscitate the little girl. The relief Jen feels at Gracie’s recovery is matched only by her fury at the driver of the car – her ex-husband’s new girlfriend Ella. Jen has never trusted Ella, and now her worst fears have been confirmed.

But then Gracie begins to tell strange stories about what she heard in the car that day, and what she saw in those moments near death. It’s clear that there’s something shocking hidden in Ella’s past… but exposing it could tear all their lives apart.

An emotional page-turner that will take your breath away. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Lisa Wingate, and Kerry Fisher.

My Thoughts:

Gracie’s Secret is indeed a compelling read and focuses upon a parent’s love for their child as well as the trauma of almost losing a child.

The story follows Jen as she gets the dreaded call that her three year old daughter is in the hospital in a coma. Jen blames Ella, her ex-husband’s girlfriend, who, she finds out was also in the car crash that put her daughter in a coma. The author focuses on the trauma and grief that the characters go through, each dealing with their own fears and demons. Luckily, Gracie comes out of her coma and goes home with her mother. After this, the main story begins, where Gracie starts to talk about Angels and heaven. It is here that some parts of the story are not easy to relate to or believe. I guess it is up to the reader and their way of looking at it. The story starts to follow both Jen and Ella as we find out more about them and the secrets being held. Nothing is ever as it seems!

The characters are fine, but could have been developed more. Jen gets a little annoying after a while as we see her obsession with her daughter grow and hatred towards Ella increase. Gracie seems more mature than her age and even talks like an older child. The other characters are okay but could have been further developed.

However, in-spite of all this, the plot is full of suspense with an ending that the reader will not even imagine. The book is well-written and is definitely worth a read!