Book Review: The Woman I Was Before by Kerry Fisher

About the Book:

43353827._SY475_
The perfect picture hides the darkest lies.

A new home can be a happy ending. Or a fresh start. Or a hiding place…

Kate Jones is running away. She has left her old life behind, changing both her own name and her daughter’s. No-one must ever connect Kate with the mistake that destroyed her life.

Starting afresh on Parkview Road – a brand new street full of newly built houses – Kate looks at the other women on the street with envy. They seem to have it all: Gisela with her busy life, full house and successful children, Sally with her exciting spontaneous marriage, her glamorous holidays, her high-flying career. The pictures that Kate’s new friends post online confirm their seemingly perfect existence, whilst Kate hides from the world at all costs.

Until one day, everything changes. Kate is called to the scene of a devastating accident, which is about to test everything the women thought they knew about each other, and themselves.

From the bestselling author of The Silent Wife, The Woman I Was Before is a book about the things we hide from those closest to us – and the terrible consequences that keeping those secrets can have. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.

My Thoughts:

The story follows Kate as she relocates to a new place, running away from a past that she does not want to be known for. A small mistake changes the course of her life and that of her teenage daughter. Parkview Road, where they come to live, is not without it’s drama. The neighbors are interesting and seem to have it all together. On one side there is Gisela, living a busy and seemingly happy life with her husband and children. On the other is Sally, a successful career woman with a husband who is equally successful.

As the story progresses, we are provided glimpses into the lives of each of these three women and discover that they are not so put together as we were led to believe initially. The saying “the grass is greener on the other side” is apt in Kate’s case as she follows her friends lives on Facebook. Not everything is as it seems though and in reality there is so much that is going wrong in each of the characters lives. This is a good portrayal of reel life and real life where reel life in this case can be attributed to what is seen on social media.

Kate is a strong woman hiding from one incident that she feels she has to pay for. Even though she is found to have not been responsible in the end. Sally is dealing with a marriage that is great on the surface but at a stage where she and her husband seem to want different things in life. Gisela is dealing with everything that can go wrong with each member of her family. The author has wonderfully shown us the strength of these women and how one incident can either bring people together or tear them apart.

In the case of this story, the focus is finally on how the women come together to support each other as each one’s story comes to light. The bonds of friendship and togetherness that develop through the course of the story are delightful. I have always been a fan of Kerry Fisher’s books and it is no wonder that I picked up this book to read. As expected I thoroughly enjoyed the book and the way the characters evolved throughout the story. It did take me a little time to get captivated by the story, but once that happened I was hooked!

I strongly recommend this book and any book by Kerry Fisher. They are definitely worth reading and are more female centric with very strong women characters who are easy to relate to.

Share your thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s